Newbie Vortec Cam Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

savagebows

Reaction score
First Name
Tim
Truck Year
Truck Model
K1500
Engine Size
Hi, new here. I recently purchased an 85 GMC K1500. The 305 had issues so I took it out. A friend had an older 350 4 bolt main block and gave me a set of L31 vortec heads and a High Rise intake. He said that I'd need to get a larger cam or else it would be gutless on the lower end. It has an Edelbrock 1406, headers, and is manual transmission. I will be using it as a daily driver. I was a mechanic years ago and have build many SBC engines but nothing performance. Any advise on a cam that does not require modification would be greatly appreciated.

savagebows

Reaction score
First Name
Tim
Truck Year
Truck Model
K1500
Engine Size
I believe it's the Pro Comp PCE147.1025.

Attachments

• 27f1908a16e26560b494ab45a88d1a44.jpg
    27f1908a16e26560b494ab45a88d1a44.jpg
    18.6 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:

1lejohn

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
john
Truck Year
1985 , 2004
Truck Model
k-1500, 2500 HD
Engine Size
350, 6.7
Thats a lot of intake for a mild 350 build. Is it a single plane intake with a 3000 to 7000 rpm power band. :oops: Personally I would look for a cheap dual plane low rise intake for your build. Jeg's has a nice intake.

savagebows

Reaction score
First Name
Tim
Truck Year
Truck Model
K1500
Engine Size