1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

It's here!!!

Discussion in 'Engine & Performance' started by SquareRoot, Feb 12, 2020.

  1. SquareRoot

    SquareRoot Full Access Member

    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    First Name:
    Mike
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    K20
    Engine Size:
    350
    Ok. Tonight I capped every port on the throttle body. That some bitch still continued to idle! So, I ran to the parts store and picked up a can of starting fluid. Came back and fired it up. Soaked the perimeter of the intake and throttle body with it several times until it was empty. There is NOT a vacuum leak! I played with the idle screw for awhile while watching the rpm on my phone. I eventually noticed the TPS was hanging around 2. Now Everytime the ignition is cycled, the TPS resets to zero. By chance I pulled back (closed) on the linkage and the idle dropped while the IAC went up. WTF?

    Then I had the eureka moment! The throttle cable adjustment was just enough to keep the primary butterflies open maybe like 1/32 of an inch. So despite the idle screw being backed off completely, the cable was holding it open ever so slightly. This thing is super sensitive! I popped the throttle cable off and the primaries closed and the IAC shot up to 12 to keep it running.

    Then it started raining so I put it bed for the night.

    More to come tomorrow.
     
    Catbox, Arkansas_V8 and Snoots like this.
  2. Frankenchevy

    Frankenchevy Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,697
    Likes Received:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Location:
    Northern, CA
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Truck Year:
    Square
    Truck Model:
    CUCV
    Engine Size:
    Small
    Nice! As long as you’re still getting high nineties to 100% tps with the throttle fully depressed you should be squared away.
     
  3. SquareRoot

    SquareRoot Full Access Member

    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    First Name:
    Mike
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    K20
    Engine Size:
    350
    Alrighty!!!

    Got the throttle cable adjusted properly. Huge difference. Now I can set the target idle at 700 and the IAC drops to where it should be (5-15%).

    I'm amazed how smooth this thing idles. One thing I did tonight was upload the latest firmware. Edelbrock gives an excellent step by step how to on their forum. Very simple and easy. The update is version v65 which activates the bus data streams for use with aftermarket digital guages and forced injection.

    I also had a side project. Air Horns!!!

    I mounted them in the stock location. Easy one wire hookup. These mofo's are loud! 128 fb of dual frequency air horns. I couldn't handle the factory horn. Wimpy by today's standards.

    It hope to stop the heart of the next SOB that pulls out in front of me!

    Screenshot_20200305-164837.png

    IMG_20200305_165434883_resized.jpg

    IMG_20200305_181325482_resized.jpg

    IMG_20200305_185621447_resized.jpg
     
  4. AuroraGirl

    AuroraGirl Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    587
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Location:
    Northern Wisconsin
    First Name:
    Taylor
    Truck Year:
    1980
    Truck Model:
    K2500
    Engine Size:
    5.7
    I actually had this with a 4 wheeler... my original carb was junk so i bought a new one. The previous owner adjusted the throttle on a section of the cable and put some kind of rubber case around the adjuster and not at the carb where it should have been. new one had a TINY difference in design, causing to to hold open about 1/4 an inch... that was redline.
     
  5. Frankenchevy

    Frankenchevy Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,697
    Likes Received:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Location:
    Northern, CA
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Truck Year:
    Square
    Truck Model:
    CUCV
    Engine Size:
    Small
    So...how’s it running with the pro flo?
     
  6. SquareRoot

    SquareRoot Full Access Member

    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    First Name:
    Mike
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    K20
    Engine Size:
    350
    Like a new truck. Zero issues. Very easy to adjust timing and A/F ratios. Starts instantly regardless of temp. Idles smoothly at 700 rpm. Love it as expected.
     
    Catbox and Snoots like this.
  7. Gerald Holt

    Gerald Holt Junior Member

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Location:
    Galveston TX
    First Name:
    Gerald
    Truck Year:
    1987
    Truck Model:
    C10
    Engine Size:
    5.7L
    How is your fuel economy? Very little data to be found in my searches.
     
  8. Frankenchevy

    Frankenchevy Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,697
    Likes Received:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Location:
    Northern, CA
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Truck Year:
    Square
    Truck Model:
    CUCV
    Engine Size:
    Small
    Good to hear. I was skeptical (as I am with most things) due to the reviews on summit. Two out of the three reviews stated the MAP sensor was DOA. But like most reviews, people tend to show up when they have issues.
     
  9. SquareRoot

    SquareRoot Full Access Member

    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    First Name:
    Mike
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    K20
    Engine Size:
    350
    Turbo 400 & 4:56 gears. Fuel economy...lol.
     
    Catbox likes this.
  10. SquareRoot

    SquareRoot Full Access Member

    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    First Name:
    Mike
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    K20
    Engine Size:
    350
    My original Pro-flo ran for 15+ years without a single failure. The sensors are GM parts. The PF4 gives you a diagnostic screen if a sensor fails. Just carry a spare of each in the glovebox for extra piece of mind.
     
    Catbox likes this.

Share This Page