New from Austin. Trying to fix my wife's truck.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Raffles

Reaction score
First Name
Patrick
Truck Year
Truck Model
R20
Engine Size
5.7L
Hey everyone. I got here from a recommendation on Reddit. My wife recently bought her granddad's 87' R20, so we're trying to get it back to being (at least) reliable. I have some basic mechanic experience, but I'm typically one of those "learn as you do" types, so be patient if I ask a dumb question.

Unfortunately for us, her granddad apparently didn't do any maintenance on this thing, so we have a long road ahead - muffler's blown open, exhaust system's rusted out, driver side gas tank leaks when in use. The list just goes on.

So, yeah, we have our work cut out for us.

Edit: Photo of Maureen (that's the name the wife gave her) added, for those interested.

You must be registered for see images attach

Last edited:

82sbshortbed

Fuckemall!!
Reaction score
First Name
Doug
Truck Year
1982, 1984
Truck Model
1500 shortbed, 1500 longbed
Engine Size
454, 305
Welcome fellow Texan. There's a lot of experienced guys on here that are glad to help. Think you'll find this site and it's members very helpful.

animal

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Lee
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10 silverado
Engine Size
350ish
:welcome:

Charlie

Mopar by Birth. Chevy by Choice.
Reaction score
First Name
Don
Truck Year
Truck Model
Cheyenne 10 LWB
Engine Size
350/TH350/AC/4 BBL Quadrajet

Snoots

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Roger
Truck Year
Truck Model
Jimmy Sierra
Engine Size
Welcome from Georgia!

Glad to have you, your wife, and Maureen here.

First things first...fix the leaky gas tank or Maureen may become a HOT redhead.

WFO

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size