Trasimission problem please help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Cain8

Reaction score
First Name
Clay
Truck Year
Truck Model
Blazer
Engine Size
Hey guys new to the forum I have an 89 k5 I just bought, it has the 700r transmission and when I try to put it in gear it does nothing I put fresh fluid in it because it was dry still got nothing!!! I guess it needs to be rebuilt is this something I could prolly take on myself with some information off the net to rebuild it? If so where do you recommend getting parts and what do I need? Thanks for any help and yes I'm new to these so be easy.
Thanks

Irishman999

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jason
Truck Year
Truck Model
K-1500 High Sierra
Engine Size
Welcome! hotrodpc is our GM automatic transmission guru, he will tell you everything you need to know.

89Suburban

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Paw Paw
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevrolet Tahoe LT
Engine Size
5.3, 4WD
Yes, HR is the T-MAN. He'll help ya bro!! :waytogo:

HotRodPC

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
First Name
HotRod
Truck Year
85 K20 LWB
Truck Model
Silverado
Engine Size
454 - Turbo 400 - 3.73
Welcome aboard Cain. Glad to have you here. Congrats on the new purchase. Hopefully you'll be a paticipant and hang out with us.