Need Help Choosing Heads and Intake

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Cwhite7089

Reaction score
First Name
Caleb
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
Hello guys I’m new here and need some help. I recently picked up a 1984 C20 with an 85 350 in it, currently auto 3 speed.
I want to make this 350 into something fun and usable. As in more than necessary torque, the kind to surprise passengers or other folk. Without cutting gas mileage in half, all while on a budget compared to going all out.
I was thinking along the lines of a 383 or 408 (4” stroke, go to choice right now), with a very small cam as far as aftermarket goes, cheap heads, intake, and a 650-75cfm carb, short headers.
Here’s my dilemma, I’m new to all this and not sure what the best route is. Ideally I’d like to maintain or improve mileage under light throttle driving, “taking my time”/“grandpa on a Sunday drive” but have the torque to wind a friend :3

So here’s my questions:

1) Would a 408 (4” stroke) be too much for gas mileage even under featherweight throttle?

2) 670 Holley spread bore, 650-750 Holley or edelbrock square bore, or factory quadrajet?

3) I looked into summit vortec heads but I want to keep the compression no higher than 9.0 to 1 to use 87 octane. I will be in rural Montana before long and don’t intend on struggling to find 91 or paying for it haha.
So I need to stick to 75-80cc heads it seems after doing some calculations using the rods and pistons of choice.
I saw the Dart Iron Eagles SS? I’d really like to keep it hydraulic flat tappet which I can with these, unless going roller would really matter that much?
The problem is intake selection for these, according to google searches, only reveal the racing style intakes from Dart and Brodix. I DO NOT want that. Am I able to use others such as Weiand Street Warrior or Edelbrock Performer?