kick down switch or vacuum leak

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Trippin3030

Reaction score
First Name
James
Truck Year
Truck Model
k20 campers special
Engine Size
howdy thanks for taking the time to read this I'm almost at my wits end with my truck if its not one thing its another and i'm learning as i go so firstly please don't judge as I realize i'm a amateur at best haha. im damn near finished a restore on a 1980 chevy K20 campers special its running a 350 bored 30 over bolted to a th400 she runs an drives but wont shift out of first until i hit 50 KMH unless i plug the trans into direct vacuum from the intake and bypass the kick down switch once i do that it shifts just fine and runs smooth now i just rebuilt the carb (Rochester QJ) and once installed i did the usual checks and the vacuum seal is fine on it. i tried adjusting and then eventually swapping out the modulator valve to a brand new one on the trans but to no avail. this truck is nickel an diming me to death so i thought i would try to exhaust some truck forum knowledge befor buying new parts i got giddy and started driving her anyways with it plugged directly into the intake but its gutless on those single lane highway passes so i would love to have my kick down operational. any help is greatly appreciated. once again thank you for your patience while reading this incredibly long winded post sorry bout that it kinda got away from me haha

79K10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ryan
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
350/th350
what kind of valve body are you running in the th400? wouldn't be some kind manual valve would it? or somethings sticking, pull the pan maybe?

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7