Need help with 4l80E swap!!!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

blueburb

Reaction score
First Name
Brad
Truck Year
Truck Model
V2500 Suburban
Engine Size
Hi there, I am new to this forum and I am new to Chevys (mostly a Ford guy, GASP!). But I have a very nice 89 suburban with a tbi 350 and a TH400, and a complete 91 suburban (still a square body) with a tbi 350 and a 4l80e. I would love to swap the 4L80E from the 91 to the 89, what do I need to do to do this swap? I understand about crossmember and driveline differences, and I will just switch them from the 91, but what about wiring? Can I just take the ecm out of the 91 along with the wiring harness for the transmission? Or would I have to replace the entire vehicle harness? Is this a can of worms that I don't even want to open, or is it gonna be well worth the pain?

marks86

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30
Engine Size
12v Cummins
if I was you I would take the entire wiring harness from the 91, and I mean the entire harness, and swap it into your 89. If the 91 was a diesel then the 4l80e would have a separate computer(which I have for sale btw) but since its a gas motor the trans computer is built into the ECM of the truck

MadOgre

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
NA
Truck Year
NA
Truck Model
NA
Engine Size
NA
Is there a difference in the harness from ecm to ecm aside from the transmission?

marks86

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30
Engine Size
12v Cummins
Is there a difference in the harness from ecm to ecm aside from the transmission?

your asking from an 89 suburban to a 91 suburban?

MadOgre

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
NA
Truck Year
NA
Truck Model
NA
Engine Size
NA
YA the harness not the ecm.

marks86

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mark