Need destributor help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

johnunger1001

Reaction score
First Name
John
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
I have a 1982 C10. It has a built 350. I want to upgrade the distributor system. The one on it now does not have a vacuum advance. There is tons that are for a sbc but what should I get? Also, I am kinda new to the older motors, Whats up with the vacuum advance? do I need one with it?

Thanks guys

johnunger1001

Reaction score
First Name
John
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
i ALSO WANT A BETTER CARB. I HAVE A HOLLEY 750 NOW AND IT HAS A BAD DEAD SPOT IN IT .

WHEELMAN

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
BILL
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
454 v8
i just went on line and read all the crap..on distributors...and what i read..the
HEI is the best for street use..with the vacuum advance..some good ones at jegs--the distributors..with out the vacuum advance and with the boxes and the external coils..where you can set your degrees..and what ever else that it does..is great...if you are going too race the hell out of it..they were saying..for street use..save your money..just go with a good hei set up..set the timing and go..the distributors..fit the sb and bb motors.they interchange

WHEELMAN

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
BILL
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
454 v8
i see on craigs list all the time.guys want to trade or sell off.there holleys
the 750 is too much for there motors..and are wasting gas..i all ways use..the edelbrock carbs..the 1406 with the electric choke..you can just crank and drive..and go..you cant beat it..if you got a big old race engine..sure you need a 750 holly..we had two on our race car..for the strip years ago..big time gas suckers...is what they are..they make them look all pretty and charge you a big old price-

HotRodPC