Mark IV 454 Engine Build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DSnyde34

Reaction score
First Name
Dayton
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Hey everyone, I am about to buy a 74 K20 that has a Mark IV 454 Big Block in it. The truck currently needs a cam. I am fairly new to this so I was wondering if you guys had some advice on what cam to get and what other changes I should make. It currently has an Edelbrock carb on it. I was thinking it would be a good idea to put a new intake manifold on it as it still has the original cast intake. Should I just get an Edelbrock intake(Performer 2-O Intake Manifold #2161) since it already as an edelbrock carb? If I go with the edelbrock intake they recommend a camshaft(Performer-Plus Camshaft #2162) to go with it should I just go this route? I guess just what are your guys recommendations on a cam and what changes should I make to the motor to get more out of it without completely rebuilding it? Would new headers and exhaust be worth it? The truck is an old feed truck so I want it to have good low end torque because it will still be used to pull a trailer from time to time but I also want to be able to take it down the road and have some fun :)
Thanks!

CalSgt

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Casey
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevy K-10 Custom Deluxe
Engine Size
The reality is any change you make will be a trade between reliability, efficiency and performance that old clapped out big block might not have much life left in it. If you want low end torque just put a stockish cam back in it & leave the manifolds alone.