C20 for towing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SirRobyn0

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rob
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
People talk comfort of a squarebody vs OBS all the time. Ive had two 3/4 ton OBS trucks. Neithier was at the caliper of a truck i have now. Not only do my squarebody runs better with less electronics... my 87 turns more heads and people give me the thumbs up all the time. Only thing i hate about my truck now is that when i stop somewhere " Do you want to sell that truck" or " ill trade you my cateye" NO THANKS!!

I have not owned a GMT-400 anything newer for that matter, but as a mechanic I've gotten to work on them. I would be willing to own a GMT-400, but nothing newer. I just don't like the newer trucks. I've really not all that fond of the GMT-400, but I like the vortec motors.

I have the same problem you do, plus I have a dump kit on the factory box, so it's easier to put gas in with the bed open. That's a real attention getter apparently. I don't mind talking about my truck but sometimes I'm just not in the mood or in a hurry... You know what I mean.

Just a few thoughts- 95% of the time, and you can fact check me on this, the average late model truck owner does not tow any more than a light duty trailer with some lumber, a mower or UTV and some bales of hay.
I belong to the other 5%. I use my late model 2500 to haul vehicles, tractors, excavators, 5 tons of rock, 4 tons of livestock feed, 30' RVs, and on and on.
I was around when the Squarebodies were new and doing about the same thing. Speaking personally, modern technology has made my Silverado a better tool for me. Built in trailer braking, backup camera, better mirrors, stronger drivetrain, brakes, etc. However, that said, I could do it all with my 80 K15 or my 85 K10. I just choose not to.