Adapt 4x4 Th350 in Place of 700r4

Discussion in 'Automatic Transmission' started by HotRodPC, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. HotRodPC

    HotRodPC Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    43,289
    Likes Received:
    2,801
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    OKC, OK
    First Name:
    HotRod
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    Silverado K10 to K20 Conversion
    Engine Size:
    6.2 to Gas???
    That sounds right to me. You see the chunk I cut off, it's about that long. I know it's between 1in and 1.5 inch, so 1 3/8 is probably good and it can be off by 1/8 too. yes, the Th350 and 700r4 are the same bolt pattern so they share the same Tcase adapter. All you need to worry about is getting the output shaft the correct length and use that spacer and you're good to go. It's very easy.
     
  2. TIC

    TIC Junior Member

    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Location:
    east Tennessee
    First Name:
    Mike
    Truck Year:
    1989
    Truck Model:
    K1500
    Engine Size:
    350cid
    i guess Tcase and torque converter share the same initials, i ment the torque converter bolt pattern. and do ya measure from the center of the bolt hole to the center of the Tconv. and double that to get the hole pattern # ?
     
  3. HotRodPC

    HotRodPC Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    43,289
    Likes Received:
    2,801
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    OKC, OK
    First Name:
    HotRod
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    Silverado K10 to K20 Conversion
    Engine Size:
    6.2 to Gas???
    yes, the torque converters are all the same, 2wd and 4wd. Same bolt patterns. Same part #'s even.
     
  4. Roy gibson

    Roy gibson Junior Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Location:
    Bee Spring ky
    First Name:
    Roy
    Truck Year:
    1984
    Truck Model:
    C10
    Engine Size:
    305
    I'm thinking about doing the switch from a 700r to a 350 turbo in a 84 4x4 with the spacer and a 2 wheel drive trans.Was wondering if everything else will work in same place cross member linkage mounts and Speedo thanks for your help
     
  5. mcpaddleboat

    mcpaddleboat Junior Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Location:
    Alabama
    First Name:
    Wilson
    Truck Year:
    1989
    Truck Model:
    GMC Sierra k1500
    Engine Size:
    350 tbi
    Hey guys. I’ve been reading this thread for about three days now and it has helped a lot. I still have just a few question. I have an 89 gmc 4x4 with a 350 tbi. It came stock with a 700r4 and a 241c tcase but I lost third and fourth gear. I just had a th350 already mounted, with an adapter, to a 241c tcase given to me. I want to put the th350 in my truck until I have time to rebuilt the 700 for the overdrive feature. But in the mean time I just need to know if the kickdown cable still hooks on to the throttle. What do I hook the vacuum modulator on the th350 too? And there is a 4prong plug on the 700 that is behind the shift linkage goin into the valvebody that is not in the th350, do I need to bypass the pig tail or just leave it be? I can upload any pictures if need be. Thanks in an advance for any help that can be shared.
     
    Dougnsalem likes this.
  6. HotRodPC

    HotRodPC Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    43,289
    Likes Received:
    2,801
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    OKC, OK
    First Name:
    HotRod
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    Silverado K10 to K20 Conversion
    Engine Size:
    6.2 to Gas???
    Simple simon here for you. BTW, your 700r4 burnt up the 3/4 clutch pack. I suggest a commercial Alto 3/4 clutch pack in the rebuild or equivalent, not the Z pack.

    Yes, just bolt it in. If it has the adpater already, same driveshafts and all. Detent cable will hook to the same place the TV cable on your 700r4 went, and just run a vac line from the modulater to any engine vacuum soure. You can T off the carb, T off the intake, wherever doesn't really matter so long as your getting vacuum to it.
     
    Dub11 and Dougnsalem like this.
  7. mcpaddleboat

    mcpaddleboat Junior Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Location:
    Alabama
    First Name:
    Wilson
    Truck Year:
    1989
    Truck Model:
    GMC Sierra k1500
    Engine Size:
    350 tbi
    Thanks bud. I still need to get a torque converter but I don’t know if it’s a lock up trans or even if it’s a th350c. Any obvious way to tell the two apart?
     
  8. Swims350

    Swims350 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Logan WV
    First Name:
    Chris
    Truck Year:
    1983
    Truck Model:
    K10
    Engine Size:
    none
    square plugin on the driver's side dead giveaway of a th350c lockup
     
    Dougnsalem likes this.
  9. mcpaddleboat

    mcpaddleboat Junior Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Location:
    Alabama
    First Name:
    Wilson
    Truck Year:
    1989
    Truck Model:
    GMC Sierra k1500
    Engine Size:
    350 tbi
    No square plug on the th350.

    I do have a square plug on my 700r4 that I pulled out of my truck tho. So do I just need to leave that plug alone or should I jump it.
     
  10. Swims350

    Swims350 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Logan WV
    First Name:
    Chris
    Truck Year:
    1983
    Truck Model:
    K10
    Engine Size:
    none
    leave it alone that's the lockup when you put in the th350 you can leave it hanging. Maybe tape the end to keep out dirt, then if you ever do a lockup th350 or another 700r4 you can reuse it.
     
  11. HotRodPC

    HotRodPC Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    43,289
    Likes Received:
    2,801
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    OKC, OK
    First Name:
    HotRod
    Truck Year:
    85
    Truck Model:
    Silverado K10 to K20 Conversion
    Engine Size:
    6.2 to Gas???
    Swims is correct. Just tape that 4 prong square out of the way to keep it clean and from getting ripped on something while you're wheeling. So if your Th350 does not have the square plug, this is a Th350, not a Th350C, C designating Converter Clutch. You're going to lose some mpg, but you certainly have the more reliable transmission in a Th350 without the Converter Lock Up. Let us know if you have any more questions. It's straight forward install provided it's done right.
     
  12. mcpaddleboat

    mcpaddleboat Junior Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Location:
    Alabama
    First Name:
    Wilson
    Truck Year:
    1989
    Truck Model:
    GMC Sierra k1500
    Engine Size:
    350 tbi
    Thanks a lot guys. You really answered a lot of questions for me
     
  13. hatzie

    hatzie Full Access Member

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    290
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Location:
    NH
    First Name:
    David
    Truck Year:
    1976
    Truck Model:
    k20
    Engine Size:
    6.5

    I'd get the mating half and four cavity plugs to cover the connector. It's less than $5 in parts. It'll keep out the dirt and weather far better than any other solution.
    One Weatherpak 12015024 connector and four Delphi Packard 12010300 cavity seals.

    If you get a TH350C you'll need the lockup control.
     
  14. Dub11

    Dub11 Junior Member

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Location:
    NE Kansas
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Truck Year:
    1985
    Truck Model:
    K 10
    Engine Size:
    454
    HotRodPC likes this.
  15. 84 M1008

    84 M1008 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    152
    Likes Received:
    78
    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Location:
    New York
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Truck Year:
    1984
    Truck Model:
    M1008 K30
    Engine Size:
    6.2
     

Share This Page