1980 K10 Brake question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

flatford39

Reaction score
First Name
Tom
Truck Year
Truck Model
K2500
Engine Size
I had just finished changing my complete exhaust system on my 1980 K10 and I got behind the wheel to start the truck up and as is my custom I had my right foot on the brake while I was listening for leaks when all of a sudden the pedal went to the floor. This is while the truck is in park and idling. When I shut the engine off the pedal resumes its normal position which is pretty high indicating a lot of brake available,but once the engine is started and I apply pressure the pedal goes to the floor. I don't see any leakage anywhere and the MC is full. Is this vacuum related or do I have a bad master cylinder???

thanks for any advise.

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
If there's no leak it must be a bad master cylinder. With the truck not running, if you push really hard on the pedal does it still not go to the floor (it would be slow if it did)?

flatford39

Reaction score
First Name
Tom
Truck Year
Truck Model
K2500
Engine Size
If there's no leak it must be a bad master cylinder. With the truck not running, if you push really hard on the pedal does it still not go to the floor (it would be slow if it did)?

I just went back out there and put both feet on it with the engine off. The pedal went to the floor rather quickly like it does when the engine is running. I suspect it's the master cylinder now. I am really a pretty lucky guy here as this happened in my driveway and not while I was driving.

Thanks for the help.

Mr Clean

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Shawn
Truck Year
1982 & 1985
Truck Model