Truck stopped idling after fuel ran out.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

randomTruckKid

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
Hello, hope this is the right place to ask this and isn't some stupid question.

Editing to make simple of all this mess below:
Simple:
Car stoped idiling after it ran out of gas. 79 c10 350. Eldinbrock 1906 carb

Basically as the title says my truck stopped idling after it ran out of gas. It's a 79 c10 with a 350. I just got the truck staurday and it is my first project. Working out all the kinks and learning as I go.
When I ran out I was had just shifted into gear after changing seats with a buddy right outside my house. Then it died in the middle of the street. Didn't realise it was out of fuel at first as the speedometer and fuel gage don't work.
We put some gas in it from a can I had and started to try and start it. Get the fuel flowing. Eventually we rolled it back to the curb and managed to get it started but only when I put some pressure on the gas. Does everything but idle.
I went inside and ate some dinner for about a hour since it was getting dark out. I came back out and decided to try again since it was dark out and the divers side is missing a front window thing and the window on that side dosnt go up all the way. I couldn't get any farther so we had to push it into the driveway as high up as we could. It's just barely off the street. Holy crap that wheele is hard to turn.
Its staying out there for tonight. I put a towel over the seat. I dont care if the insides get too wet. Were swaping cab anyway. Its not gunna rain.
I'm assuming something go sucked into the carb and went past both fuel filters? The fuel filter by the tank is full but the one by the engine is a quarter full.