SORRY MECHANIC

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jwasnewski

Reaction score
First Name
Leroy
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC SUBURBAN SLE
Engine Size
5.7L
I have to post this.
I have been chasing a weird over heating problem for two months.89 Suburban TBI water temperature would climb to or greater than 230. Shut the engine off for 15-20 seconds and it would run around 205-210. It might run 10 minutes at that temperature or 1000 miles. New Radiator, sensor, and I installed a mechanical gauge. The only thing not new was the water pump so even though I didn’t believe it was a water pump I tore it out anyway. What else is there?
What did I find? Sabotage!!
A freeze plug in the lower radiator hose. Now that’s between the radiator and the pump so it didn’t fall in there. My truck has been to two shops in my town for unrelated issues so I can’t prove who did it or why. Backtracking timelines, I have an idea. Any way, some mechanics are plain sorry.

Octane

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Eddie
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Mechanics can be sloppy like that

Termite_Delight

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
1976 1975
Truck Model
K2500 K2500
Engine Size
350 L33
I have to post this.
I have been chasing a weird over heating problem for two months.89 Suburban TBI water temperature would climb to or greater than 230. Shut the engine off for 15-20 seconds and it would run around 205-210. It might run 10 minutes at that temperature or 1000 miles. New Radiator, sensor, and I installed a mechanical gauge. The only thing not new was the water pump so even though I didn’t believe it was a water pump I tore it out anyway. What else is there?
What did I find? Sabotage!!