Some vent window lessons learned

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Trucksareforwork

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Geoff
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
So I finally got to my vent windows. While I’m not going to post a thread on the finished product, or even post this like I’m an expert, I thought I might post a couple tips and lessons learned.

First, there are a lot of decent videos on this and some that are not so decent. My take is that a lot of the videos skip the real hard part, which for me is getting the seal into the channel on the frame.

Here is a good video by brothers (I do not work for or promote any products).
xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media

Here is another by Chris craft.

My tips from working on a 2 piece seal (this is assuming you have the window assembly out of your door. I have no idea how you would redo the seals otherwise):

1. There are a few ways to go about disassembling the frames to get the channel seal right. I removed the hinge rivets from the frame to keep the hinge intact. Some disassemble the hinge itself (I think the videos above do).

You must be registered for see images attach

2. I drilled the frame rivet at the top of the window frame to provide space for the seal to go in. This picture is after I have already removed the rivet and replaced the seal. I used a small pair of vice grips to hold the frame together while I finished putting the frame seal in.

3. Use lubricant and lots of it. I used quick detailer (Griots speed shine) because I had a ton of it. It makes all the difference.