Rear axle replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Pmcb

Reaction score
First Name
Pat
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC Sierra Classic 1500
Engine Size
I was driving down the road when I heard a thump in the rear end, slowed and pulled to the side but at about 35mph drivers side rear wheel and axle shaft passed me. I was able to keep truck under control and get to the side of the road. Axle shaft pulled out of both sides. I do not see other damage, drive shaft and suspension look good. It is 1987 GMC Sierra Classi, V1500 with 5.7l.

How do I find out what the ratio is for replacement?
Should I replace enter rear axle or rebuild?

I have never worked on axle before.

dhartman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
daniel
Truck Year
Truck Model
c15
Engine Size
I was driving down the road when I heard a thump in the rear end, slowed and pulled to the side but at about 35mph drivers side rear wheel and axle shaft passed me. I was able to keep truck under control and get to the side of the road. Axle shaft pulled out of both sides. I do not see other damage, drive shaft and suspension look good. It is 1987 GMC Sierra Classi, V1500 with 5.7l.

How do I find out what the ratio is for replacement?
Should I replace enter rear axle or rebuild?

I have never worked on axle before.
Glad to hear that you are okay... that could have been so much worse.

Very curious as to how it axle shaft came out with the wheel. Did the internal C clips come off inside?

waterpirate

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Truck Year
Truck Model
v10
Engine Size
5.7 tbi