Lost my rear end.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DoubleDingo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Bagoomba
Truck Year
1981, 1965
Truck Model
81-C20 Silverado Camper Special-TH400-4.10s; 65-C20 with 4:57 gears and Borg Warner Overdrive
Engine Size
Carb'ed Vortec 350; 1972 L48 350
We need some detailed photos of this carnage so we can better see what is going on. I'm on board with the others, I bet it's repairable, but it'll be a rebuild with new ring and pinion and axles from what you described in your last post.

I've seen many a thread on here where a complete novice or someone's first crack at doing an axle, and they pulled it off. I am with you, I haven't done it, and it does seem daunting, but it is totally doable with some time, the right tools, and patience. Plenty of knowledge on here to help you through to being back on the road.

Post up some detailed pics so we can get this project started.

GTX63

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ty
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
I had an 85 K10 with a rear end that was trashed. No bearings, and chunks of the pinion gear laying at the bottom of the housing.
I bought another junk K10 for 1K and swapped out the rear end, so the motor and transmission, fenders, radiator and made my money back, plus I had the rest for spare parts as I needed them.

plumtruckerd

Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
C3500
Engine Size
I can find several rear ends that figments say are for 1988 GMC Sierra 1500, but online they all say will not fit 1987. What is the difference? Wheel base? They are same gearing 3.42.
Wheel base is the distance between the front and rear wheels. Track is side to side. Every CSI show on TV, and most others, get that wrong.

Fat 454

Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20 Suburban
Engine Size