proportioning valve/combo valve woes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

1low4x4

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Nick
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
85 c20.

Had a red brake light on in the dash for months. Thought it was something to do with a faulty e brake (even rho the e brake worked). finally asked about the light and was told it could be an indication of a more serious problem with my hydraulic system.apparently there is a proportioning valve or also called a combination valve that, when one brake system fails, the valve shut it off allowing you to still use the other system. In my case the rear brakes were completely dry, so the proportioning valve block them off and I've been using front brakes only for 6 months or better.

when the valve trips it also sets of that warning light,but I did not know any of this until after I replaced the master cylinder and the booster. I bench bled the master cylinder before I installed it, filled it up, bled the rear brakes 4 or 5 times, and had fluid but absolutely no pressure. Front brakes have plenty of pressure. So I saw on a diagram as well as researching online that the proportioning valve has a push button that can reset the valve when it trips. Its in an unfortunate spot right next to the frame so I use a clamp 2 reset it, not knowing that its just a small 1/8" thick pin that you push in, or so I think. Well that did not work, so I tried the method of opening the front valves for the front brakes, leaving the rear brakes closed to build pressure up in them, and punching the brakes and that was supposed to reset the valve. That did not work. Also tried going in forward and reverse punching breaks both times to reset. Did not work. Also removed amd cleaned the rear proportioning valve and still nothing.