please hep me decided

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

chevy murf

Reaction score
First Name
joseph
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
v8
okay so i need to either rebuild my transmission or buy one that is at most $500 off craigslist. But I am torn on what I should do. I would get someone to do it but i just don't have the money. I have dropped the transmission before and that's pretty simple but should I buy a used or rebuilt one of craigslist or try and rebuild my own. take into account that I have never rebuilt a transmission but I have general knowledge on how to work on vehicles I have been a garage mechanic for a while now. Done things like radiator, starter, gaskets, rear main seals, and other somewhat simple jobs. So what do y'all think i should do??? please give me your honest opinion on this and tips if you can thanks! O and i almost forgot to include that it is a 700 r4 transmission for a chevy 4x4 1986

Gmule

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Greg
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Fleetside long bed
Engine Size
After my experience with a used transmission from Craigslist. I wouldn't buy a used one with out first seeing that it operated properly.

chevy murf

Reaction score
First Name
joseph
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
v8
what can i do to see if it runs properly? what can i ask the guy to do to prove it to me

Tyger13us

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jeff
Truck Year
Truck Model
k10
Engine Size
450hp/357cid
what can i do to see if it runs properly? what can i ask the guy to do to prove it to me

IMO if your buying a trans off craigs list? its pretty much just parts,, ya already got a part trans,, the one ya got that dont work,, i wouldnt want another one...