Penetrol vs. boiled linseed oil

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

EastAustinSawdust

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Adam
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10 Big Ten Bonanza
Engine Size
5.7L 350
Been researching ways to preserve/protect patina. Penetrol and boiled linseed oil seem to be the most used methods, but I’d love for somebody to lay out the pros/cons of each and help me decide which method is best for my situation.

Got a ‘78 big ten. Buckskin and frost white factory 2-tone paint is in decent shape for its age...still some shine to it in many places...but it’s also got plenty of patina. Some areas are bare rust that is pitting and I’d love to stop it or slow it down.

I’m a driveway mechanic, no garage or covered carport to work in (though could borrow a friends garage for a weekend if need be). Truck is always parked outside, and I live in Austin where sun and heat beat down from April through October.

Curious to hear your thoughts!

You must be registered for see images attach

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ali_c20

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Alexander
Truck Year
1974, 1979
Truck Model
C20, K5
Engine Size
350, 350
A friend of mine used Owatrol Oil on his 63 GMC panel truck to preserve the patina.
I use it on the bed of my c20.
It can be applied with brush, roller or sprayer.
It holds up very well but my I don't drive my c20 in winter and it's parked in a garage.

https://www.owatrolusa.com/product/owatrol-oil/

Jdgrant96

Reaction score
First Name
Josh
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
There is a company called Sweet Patina that sells a mixture called patina sauce. I’ve seen very good reviews for it. A different route if you’re interested

EastAustinSawdust

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Adam
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10 Big Ten Bonanza
Engine Size
5.7L 350