8.1 Vortec VS 383 Stroker VS 6.0 Iron LS

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TheClassicRed

Reaction score
First Name
Justin
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
NA
I have a K10 that I plan to put on 3/4 tons on 9x16s(36in STA | Super Lug Traxion Tread E). I just want to get the communities .02

I want to put a 4L(80or85)E in it no matter what engine for the obvious, I'm severely torn on what route to go.

8.1 - Pros : BBC, Displacement, Stock Torque, Boost-Ability / Cons : Oil burner, Bad Aftermarket, Fuel Mileage
6.0 - Pros : Cheapest, Aftermarket, Middle of the road, Boost-Ability / Cons : Normal Ls swap, Kind of boring
383 - Pros : Original engine(350), Aftermarket, Stroker Coolness / Cons : Most expensive

I am learning all this myself since this is my first build. Don't be too mean if I'm misconstrued wrong etc. This is just how I see it with my info that ive read.

GTX63

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ty
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Welcome to the forum. If this is your first build, I wouldn't consider an LS swap boring. Every swap I do is a learning experience and I have been doing them for 40 years.
I build for dependability, which usually gives me the best return on my bucks. 6.0s are strong runners with longevity, but I can drop a Gen 1 motor and have it running down the road in a fraction of the time.
What will be the purpose/use for this truck once it is complete? Daily driver? Rock climber? Show queen?

1lejohn

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
john
Truck Year
1985 , 2004
Truck Model
k-1500, 2500 HD
Engine Size
350, 6.7
The 383 would basically be a new rebuilt engine. The stock fuel , and ignition system would work well for the 383. I would add long tube headers. A hydraulic roller cam, carb, and good dual plane intake. If you could afford a set of heads, I would do that also.