New to square bodys, truck won't stay running

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Badluck

Reaction score
First Name
Michael
Truck Year
Truck Model
V20
Engine Size
Hey everyone,

As stated in the title, I am new to chevy pick ups and I love my 87 square body, until my bad luck gets to it! It's a v20 4x4 with a good ole chevy 350 tbi in it. I went wheeling (*never again*) and I was going over a hole that had ice over it. Well needless to say, the front end broke through and went straight down into the mud. When the truck hit the mud the truck stalled. Ever since, the truck will not stay running longer than 20 or so seconds.

To start it I need to:
1. Turn the key on and let the pump prime for a few seconds.
2. Crank motor over. At this time, the service engine light comes on.
3. Once service engine light illuminates, step on the pedal just to give her some gas and she fires up.

It runs great just as it is supposed to for about 20 seconds. Fuel comes out of the injectors just fine, then, they just stop firing fuel into the throttle body.

I have replaced the oil pressure switch.
I have switched the a/c and fuel pump relay plugs.
I don't see any loose connections but I can't seem to find the ground wire for the pump.

I would like to test the fuel psi but these trucks don't have a Schrader valve. Any ideas on how to test this or what else it could be? Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!

junkyardog05

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Keith
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30
Engine Size
454/ 400 turbo/ NP203