My 1991 v1500 suburban

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jmbcary44

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jon
Truck Year
Truck Model
v1500 Suburban
Engine Size
5.7L 350 SBC
I have a few threads floating around, figured I would just consolidate and keep it all here. I recently bought a 1991 v1500 suburban with 200k miles. Planning on building it into a beach vehicle/camping expedition type vehicle.

I figure I would post pics in here as I go along and and make this my build thread. I am by no means a master mechanic and will likely be soliciting advice periodically.

So far I have gutted the rear carpet as it was horrible and covered with mouse ****. I still think he is living in there but I'll get him. any ways I am going to remove the rest soon and bed line the cab and then carpet over for the front two rows.

I have surface rust on the roof I will repair and lower barn door rust I am going to probably end up cutting off. then I will plastidip it.

last night it passed inspection amazingly so I took it back and removed the TBI to clean it and maybe do some mods, ill have to order a rebuild kit for it, all the gaskets literally were gone or crumbled.

Once I figure out how to post pictures I will.

Plans for the future are 4 inch lift from ORD most likely with 35s or a 3 inch lift with 33s. roof rack, gears (haven't decided what yet) and I will have to learn how. rear locker (maybe front) I don't plan on changing axles as I wont be rock crawling just some fording and exploring and beach camping. Likely custom front bumper for surf fishing and rear for spare and fuel. New exhaust to get rid of the restrictive Y pipe and maybe long tube heads.

Other than that I have gotten further on ideas yet.

Attachments

• IMG_2617.jpg
    IMG_2617.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 126
  • IMG_2643.jpg
    IMG_2643.jpg
    92.7 KB · Views: 110