Finally have this girl home, now what?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Thesiger

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Thadd
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Posted I bought this suburban a while ago. (1990 V1500 350) only just got it home. As a novice, I don't know of to address a few of the issues I've encountered. I had a good while to get to know the truck on the 150 mile drive home, here's some of the quirks I noticed:

Steering feels very boaty, borderline dangerous, its a lifted truck so I expected some, but a 3rd of a turn of play? how much could be attributed to worn out parts?

Engine needs major tune or going over. on stretches of the highway the truck would miss cylinders terribly, and shake the entire truck. But when off the highway, or at lower speeds it ran very well. Overall it seemed to be struggling, trans shifted good, but seems like it was failing to keep speed and shift at the correct times, again, at low speed preformed perfectly.

Breaks, had some sponge and pull to the left, truck doesn't leak at all but a believe the fluid was simply low fulling helped a lot. But the main thing is the brake check light stays on, what triggers this sensor? What should I be checking?

These where the three major things I noticed. Overall the truck was good to drive, but now I want to know how to fix some of the problems that came out of the wood work on the long drive. suggestions?

Attachments

• 1689996833708.png
    1689996833708.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 55

Frankenchevy

Proverbs 16:18
Reaction score
First Name
Jeremy
Truck Year
Square
Truck Model
CUCV
Engine Size
Small
Steering feels very boaty, borderline dangerous, its a lifted truck so I expected some, but a 3rd of a turn of play? how much could be attributed to worn out parts?
Check rag joint, tie rod ends, drag link, steering box and frame near box