Automatic transmission newbie asking basic questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mibars

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Michal
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban V1500
Engine Size
350 TBI
I'm new to automatic transmission, especially of a mechanically controlled type. I have a 700R4 and I wonder how idiot-proof it is.

While I was cruising in OD at I think around 35 mph and passed a tiny hill the trans downshifted to 3rd, then it did what if felt like couple of times shifting between 4th and 3rd, so I've manually downshifted it to D. Once I gained some speed I found that by pulling the shifter I can make the arrow point at OD without the click, the transmission staying in D as the mechanism is a bit spongy. I decided not to shift to avoid overshooting past the D. This make me wonder what would happen in the following scenarios:

1) Can I safely shift from Neutral back to Drive/Overdrive at speed without the risk that it will shift to 1st gear before upshifting to correct gear?
2) Is it possible to engage Reverse while driving and will it end up in a big mess?
3) Will the transmission eventually upshift when left in "1" or "2" or will I hit a rev limiter?
4) Is it possible to force shift to 2 or 1 while at highway speed, or will it shift to the lowest gear that would not overrev the engine?

PrairieDrifter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mason
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban k10, bonanza k10, c30 C&C, c10, gmc 1/2ton
Engine Size
350, 350, 350, 350, 350
1- shifting from neutral to any forward gear is fine at the correct speed. It should go back to 2nd or 3rd gear depending on gear selection and speed.