'87 R20 AC Recharge

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Raffles

Reaction score
First Name
Patrick
Truck Year
Truck Model
R20
Engine Size
5.7L
Getting ready to recharge the wife's AC, and I've never done this before. I'm looking at the AC, and I'm only seeing two ports (top center and bottom center). Can someone point me to the low side port? Also, any tips? Thanks in advance.

You must be registered for see images attach

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7
Getting ready to recharge the wife's AC, and I've never done this before. I'm looking at the AC, and I'm only seeing two ports (top center and bottom center). Can someone point me to the low side port? Also, any tips? Thanks in advance.

The low side port is circled in yellow:

You must be registered for see images attach

Add gas in small quantities. Keep checking for sufficient charge. Don't overcharge - that can be worse than under charging. A quick check can be done by feeling the liquid line (after the orifice) and the evaporator outlet. They should both be cool and about the same temp.

I just use one of those trigger adapters with a little gauge - they work surprisingly well.

Raffles

Reaction score
First Name
Patrick
Truck Year
Truck Model
R20
Engine Size
5.7L
Thanks for the info!

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7
Thanks for the info!

No problem, but I had to go to the store - so a lot of info was left unsaid.

1. If the system has been allowed to drop to atmospheric pressure, it will be contaminated by moisture and non-condensable gasses (i.e. air). It will be necessary to evacuate the system before even attempting to recharge.