402 Experts... Tell me what you know

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Grit dog

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Todd
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
So not like I don’t have enough to do, but thinking about building a 402 motor or maybe just a refresh.
I can get a good running 72 402 truck motor basically for nothing. What little I’ve read, they’re torquey but pretty anemic in stock form as big blocks go.

I’m not an engine expert. I know how to do all the work but not “what works”. Especially with this engine and not just throwing the whole checkbook and a couple credit cards at it, lol.

Let’s say I wanted 400hp min and a good smooth torquey engine for the 86.

what would I need to do to this engine?

HotRodPC

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
First Name
HotRod
Truck Year
85 K20 LWB
Truck Model
Silverado
Engine Size
454 - Turbo 400 - 3.73
Cam and scrap the 72 denutted truck heads. Try to find some 70 or earlier 396 heads for it.

BillK

Reaction score
First Name
Bill
Truck Year
Truck Model
Blazer
Engine Size
Let’s say I wanted 400hp min and a good smooth torquey engine for the 86.

I would stick with the 454 that you have. A little bit of camshaft and maybe some work on the heads or a different set of heads and you should be able to easily get 400 HP.

With the smaller 402 you will need to build a much more aggressive engine to reach the same goal. I would imagine you will spend an easy $5000 to build a nice reliable 400HP 402 engine.

Another thought would be to get a bolt on Procharger kit :)

Grit dog

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Todd
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Cam and scrap the 72 denutted truck heads. Try to find some 70 or earlier 396 heads for it.
That's what I was figuring as well based on what I read about the heads.