1985 c20 Distributor Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

r.booser

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ron
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
New member and recently purchased my first square body 350 c20. I have wanted one for a while so let the work begin. I purchased this vehicle for a good price knowing the it needs some work. After changing the thermostat, plugs and wires I was able to get her fired up. Since this is my first I'm not a master mechanic I was hoping for some pointers. It was about 10 degrees out and she wouldn't start. Would roll over but nothing. Now the other day when I had it running I would shut it off, come back 30 minutes later and it would fire right up (it was in the 50's). I was going to change the cap and rotor but it seems the problem might be the ignition coil also. But my question is should I just replace the whole distributor? That way I have all new internals. If so any suggestions? I don't want to waste money but I also want everything to run well.

Stroked

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jared
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
First off, welcome to GMSB!

As to your question, I'm no master mechanic either by any means. But if you have the money, I would get a new distributor. The bushings can get worn in old ones and cause all sorts of grief. Not to mention that by the time you replace all the internals, you'll be halfway to a new one anyway.

r.booser

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ron
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
That is what I was leaning towards just wanted some opinions. Do you have any suggestions? Or what not to purchase?

Stroked

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jared
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size