Windshield Washer Fluid Pump Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

83kid

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
John
Truck Year
Truck Model
k10
Engine Size
Hi,
So my truck, 1983 k10, doesn't spray washer fluid. I recently bought it, and the guy i bought it from gave me a kit to replace the pump that he had yet to install. He had bought a universal washer fluid pump kit, where the pump is set into the reservoir, yet my truck it is nothing like that. I have very little experience with these trucks, but the tube out of the top of the reservoir going into a unit mounted on the drivers side corner of the hood. To the best of my knowledge, it contains the wiper motor, and im assuming, the washer pump.
Do i have to buy that entire unit? Where would i find the new pump and how would i go about installing it?

Also, the bigger tube goes in coming from the reservoir, and 2 smaller ones come out, and just hang there. I see there are slots beneath each wiper for them to go in, do i just slide them through and that spray on the windshield, or is there more to it than that?

Thanks!

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7
Do i have to buy that entire unit?

From your description, it sounds like your washer pump is the type that is integral with the wiper motor.

If you buy a new wiper motor it will come with the pump included:

You must be registered for see images attach

A couple of options at Rockauto (reman from Delco $130 or Cardone $53):

http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/x,carcode,1030857,parttype,8844

Or, if your wiper motor is good, you can save $$ and buy a washer pump rebuild kit for cheap ($6):

Again at Rockauto:

https://www.rockauto.com/catalog/x,...44,a,www.google.com+Search+for+1983+CHEVROLET