What Rear End Do I Have?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

El Camino Man

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
JP
Truck Year
Truck Model
R30 Scottsdale
Engine Size
6.2L
Hey guys. Im new to Chevy trucks and am trying to get everything figured out on mine. The details of my truck are in my sig.

I read on here duallies came with either a 14 bolt FF or a D70. How can I tell them apart?

Also, whats the benefits/differences of each?

And how can I tell if its a posi or not? I know most come with a tag that states something about adding limited slip fluid.

All info is appreciated!

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
Single rear wheel trucks and the narrow (cab&chassis) duallies got the GM 14bolt axle. Regular duallies like yours (bed and fenders) got the Dana 70 rear axle. It's probably an open rearend, I don't think GM ever used a locker of some type in the D70, but someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

El Camino Man

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
JP
Truck Year
Truck Model
R30 Scottsdale
Engine Size
6.2L
I don't believe its a posi either. I dropped the clutch on some gravel the other day and it looked like it only spun one side. I was disappointed :(

anubisani

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
SEAN
Truck Year
Truck Model
R/V 3500
Engine Size
454 TBI TH400 4:11 gears
Single rear wheel trucks and the narrow (cab&chassis) duallies got the GM 14bolt axle. Regular duallies like yours (bed and fenders) got the Dana 70 rear axle. It's probably an open rearend, I don't think GM ever used a locker of some type in the D70, but someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

I think mines has a locker when I do burnouts it leaves 4 foot prints on the pavement

El Camino Man