tow rating - '90 2500 Suburban

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

skipdup

Reaction score
First Name
Skip
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban Silverado V2500
Engine Size
Hi. I'm new to all this and trying to learn about my new Suburban... Anyone know how much it can tow?

Mostly stock 1990 V2500 4x4 w/5.7L. 3-speed transmission (THM400-475/3L80). It does have a 2" rough country lift. Haven't figured out what axles it has yet but should be 3.73 ratio (from RPO). Brakes look factory/stock. Window sticker references HD trailering special equipment. Also has RPO code V02 (RADIATOR,HEAVY DUTY,INCLUDES HEAVY DUTY TRANSMISSION OIL COOLER HVY DUTY RAD & TRANS OIL CLR)

I'm installing a ClassV B&W hitch (PO removed the factory one), trailer brake controller, and probably rear airbags.

Thanks!
Skip

Jawzjeep

Honk if parts fall off
Reaction score
First Name
Joshua
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban
Engine Size
is there a door tag that tells you still?

skipdup

Reaction score
First Name
Skip
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban Silverado V2500
Engine Size
is there a door tag that tells you still?
Not that I can find. Only thing I can find is a sticker that gives GVWR (8600), GAWR Front (3800), and GAWR Rear (5600)...

gmbellew

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
glen
Truck Year
Truck Model
suburban 1500
Engine Size
in the owners manual?

skipdup

Reaction score
First Name
Skip
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban Silverado V2500
Engine Size
Owners manual stated to ask the dealer.

skipdup

Reaction score
First Name
Skip
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban Silverado V2500
Engine Size

skipdup

Reaction score
First Name
Skip
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban Silverado V2500
Engine Size
@Keith Seymore - There's a wealth of info in those docs you linked to. Thank you again!