Opinions please on possible use for zinc oil additive

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ellie Niner

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Tory
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Silverado
Engine Size
LE9 305
I was a power equipment mechanic for some years just out of high school, and observed that many governed, air cooled singles sound a bit raucous when first starting... they are at WOT until the engine is near operating rpm... and generators have a heavy rotor to spin up along with the flywheel and the rest of the rotating assembly. If you're not hearing any untoward sounds once it's at speed, you're probably in good shape. Other parts coming loose... say gen-to-engine bolts, a recoil starter or other peripherals, can also make some nasty racket, so it's worth checking everything a bit closer before condemning something.

Single digit temps? We generally used 5w30 in most stuff that was going to see temps below freezing. Never saw an engine grenade with 10w30, but a few snowblowers came in with the connecting rod through the block when the owner used straight 30wt or heavier. Main bearings would burn up occasionally, too. Haven't been inside too many Chondas, but I think I remember the horizontal shaft ones being splash lubricated (i.e. no oil filter). I'd use 5w30 in sub-freezing temps, or even a lighter weight synthetic when it's unusually cold... keep the higher number at or below 30. I don't recall these having oil consumption issues; yours also should be equipped with a low oil shutdown. ZDDP won't help with cold oil flow.

Matt69olds

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC 1/2 ton
Engine Size
455 Olds
Magnetic drain plug??

Try 5W30, maybe that will help the start up noise.

Grit dog

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Todd
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size