Newbie needs your help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Philipf9

Reaction score
First Name
Philip
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Ok guys, I'm a newbie and have gotten into the square body's to help my son with his first truck. So please be kind and help me out. I don't understand all the tech talk but I'll try. My son is looking to buy an 86 k10. It's had been altered and not stock. It has a 350 small block, 4 speed manual with granny gear. The axels have been changes from 1/2 to 1-ton with 4.10 gears, 35" tires and 4" lift. From my driving it, I seem to go through the gears pretty quick (2-4). The rpm gauge is after market so I don't know if I trust it, but at 45mph, it's seems to be running hard. At 60, it's screaming pretty loud. The aftermarket gauge says its at 3200. I guess my two questions are, is this normal sounding or does something odd about that setup jump out to you? Is this a decent setup for a 16 year old to cruise around town and on occasion cruise down highway?

Thank you in advance for all your help and advice!

1987 GMC Jimmy

Automobile Hoarder
Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
V1500 Jimmy
Engine Size