Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rooster73

Reaction score
First Name
Andrew
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Scottsdale
Engine Size
I believe I burned up my fusible link. I’m new to working on rigs and I’m learning learning.

I pulled out my steering column to replace my clutch/brake pedal assembly. In the process I smelled smoke and noticed the rubber spacer between the power steering box and the lower steering shaft was burning.

No idea why.

When I got everything put back together I have no power. No ignition. No lights. Nothing.

I believe the wire on the firewall in the engine compartment next to the brake booster is where the fusible link is??? Either way, there is a wire there that’s burned through. I have power to that little block.

What on earth would have caused that rubber to start on fire? I’m sure there was oil on it.

What role would removing the steering column play in starting the fire. It was small and went out when I blew on it, but I’m just puzzled.

Thoughts???

Thanks.

CalSgt

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Casey
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevy K-10 Custom Deluxe
Engine Size
I believe I burned up my fusible link. I’m new to working on rigs and I’m learning learning.

I pulled out my steering column to replace my clutch/brake pedal assembly. In the process I smelled smoke and noticed the rubber spacer between the power steering box and the lower steering shaft was burning.

No idea why.

When I got everything put back together I have no power. No ignition. No lights. Nothing.

I believe the wire on the firewall in the engine compartment next to the brake booster is where the fusible link is??? Either way, there is a wire there that’s burned through. I have power to that little block.

What on earth would have caused that rubber to start on fire? I’m sure there was oil on it.