Frame Repair Need Advice

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Magnum44357

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Terrence
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Hey, so I finally got some free time to work on the truck this last weekend. Took my old transfer case out and went to drop the new one in but got distracted with some new front springs and shocks :D so I took the front axle off and noticed some damage to the frame at the steering box and front cross member. I took off the steering box to see what the damage was, and I found a plate someone welded to the side of the frame. (read about the usual repairs, and this seemed to be a manufactured plate, not custom) All sounds great, but the welds are crappy as all get out... I'm no pro welder, but they are terrible :p so I ground off as much as I could in order to re-weld it myself, but need some advice as to if I should cut the plate off and re-weld the whole thing back on. lemme know what you think. Pics will be attached.

2nd part- The cross member

The right side of the crossmember has a pretty sever crack across it. I originally just figured I could weld it and call it good, but its separated quite a bit, and I'm worried it will just crack again. The crack is along a previous weld, so I think its highly possible its just going to happen again. I thought maybe I'd just unbolt it, weld it, and bolt it back, but if I have it off I might as well replace it with a new one. Now since the crack is pretty wide I'm not sure if the cross member is under constant stress. If I take it off will it be impossible to get back on?

Pictures 1,2 are the plate

Picture 3 is the inside/back of the steering box's crack (you'll notice a 1/4" plate welded to the back as well. I'm assuming he thought it would help. suggestions on that would be cool too!)