Dana 44 Late model axle upgrade

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

K10blueChevy

Reaction score
First Name
Tom
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
First let me say if this is covered else where point me to it.
I'm new to the inner workings of these front axles on these square bodies.

I have an 83 K10 that has bad ball joints. I assumed swapping in a good working axle would be the easier job. Purchased said working axle only to find out I purchased a turd. The purchased axle is a Dana 44 out of a 72 K5 Blazer. After replacing the spider gears and all the seals in the hubs/spindles I realized the drivers side wasn't matching up.

The Dana has a late model axle and stub shaft on the drivers side. I noticed the late model axle has a larger ujoint and the stub shaft is machined differently. Which was causing the fitment issues with the spindle.

My question is should I finish what was started and upgrade the 44 to late model axles? If I go this route what all do I need to find? Is a set of late model spindles all I will need to swap or were the size of the wheel bearings changed and I will need to get the wheel hubs also?

Thanks for any help provided.

RThiel

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Robb
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
6.0 LQ9