BBC 205 4l80e conversion

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Craig Nedrow

NADAR UNDER THE RADAR
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Craig
Truck Year
1973 (have two), 1985
Truck Model
K10, K20, C20
Engine Size
350, 454, 6.2 Detroit
I have a 1973 K20, 205, and am in the process of gleaning information for my swap. I bought the advanced adapters kit to couple the two wheel drive 4l80e to the 205. Without getting bogged down in all the details, I just had an idea, and am putting that out there to see if anyone has heard or done this. The 4l80e is approx. 2.5 inches longer then the 350. Install would require shortening the rear drive line, and lengthening the front the 2.5 approx amt. I am a retired journeyman machinist, with all the equipment in my home shop to make drive lines, so no problem. However If I made an adapter that bolted to the triangle bolt pattern of any SB or BB motor mount on the engine, (here is the kicker..), and moved the engine forward to accommodate the 2.5 difference, seems to me that would be a fairly easy way to do it. Trans lines would really be the only thing to change (I believe). Fan PS hoses, wiring and etc all looks like it will fit. At this point I am still gathering info, so pros and con's invited, as two or more heads are better then one. As a note, Like the Spartan locker article I recently did for the front D44 mod on here, I will do the same for this. I will finish the install, taking many pictures, pt numbers, and etc so ANYONE should be able to do the same, that's why we are here right, to learn, and teach. LMK Here is a link to the Spartan locker install.

Bextreme04

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Truck Year
Truck Model
K25
Engine Size
350-4bbl