Automatic front hub swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

quade

Reaction score
First Name
Quade
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC Jimmy High Sierra
Engine Size
Is there any thread that shows how to swap the stock automatic locking hubs from an 87 Jimmy to a Manual locking. I tried looking but Im not too good with the site path. If there isnt really any does anyone have any suggestions what to buy Id like to spend as little as possible for something that isnt super cheap. Im currently in the Fire academy so money isnt easy to find right now.

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
It's pretty simple for the most part. Basically just remove the auto hubs and install the new manual hubs.

quade

Reaction score
First Name
Quade
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC Jimmy High Sierra
Engine Size
Is there any particular one that people would recommend or stay completely away from? Or any tricks on how to remove the hubs themself I tried getting into mine the other day and barely got past the cover before I was stuck. I know i've done it before with a manual somewhere on the internet but that sucker is gone.

jetman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Don
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
No trick to removing the automatic hubs. Just start ripping at it and throw all that automatic stuff in the nearest trash can.

Keep going till you get to the locking nuts holding the hub on. Stop there.
(Warn will sell you new nuts, but from my experience the OEM nuts work just fine.)