85 Pulls to Right Brake Overhaul

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jastewart25

Reaction score
First Name
Julie
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
So my 1985 K10 pulls pretty bad at 15mph+ when applying brakes lightly or hard.

I had a mechanic go through everything this weekend. Brake pads are pretty much brand new/hoses/etc. The calipers are pretty new & he says he can replace them if I want but it may still pull after replacement.

I am not experienced with these vehicles & I purchased to be a daily driver especially for 60 mile trips to hunting camp.

Can these vehicles ever brake like new trucks? I want to feel safe and I absolutely do not as of now.

If they can be made to stop & brake like modern vehicles, what kind of brake system do I need to install? I'm prepared to spend the $ to make this truck safe!! Thank you!

Skweegle89

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Zach
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
You may just need to bleed the brake lines. There is a thread on here that explains how to install rear disc brakes I think.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

texnet

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ronnie
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
It could be as simple as adjusting the right rear brake.

As for braking like a modern vehicle, that can be done. Just replace the rear braking system with disk brakes and a new dual disk type master cylinder.

Quadrajet Power

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Truck Year
Truck Model
K5 Blazer
Engine Size
I agree with the comments above.

Typically, if a vehicle pulls hard during braking, it is a rear brake problem.

First thing I would do, would be to adjust the rear shoes and make sure the drums aren't too far worn for shoes to engage.

jastewart25

Reaction score
First Name
Julie
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size