4/6 drop questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Badger

Reaction score
First Name
Gary
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
hello everyone newbie here and first post.
I am in the middle of doing a frame off on my 77 gmc c15 swb.
I am wanting to do a 4/6 drop
In the front I’ll be using bellteck 3” drop spindles and a 1” lower spring.

In the back I was thinking of going with western chassis 3” lower springs and bell tech 3” lower spring mount.

My question is I was thinking that because I’m not doing a axle flip this way I may not have to notch the frame ??? I prefer not to notch the frame they get sticky about that here. If 6” wont work maybe 5 would ?
TIA

Paint guy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Glenn
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10
Engine Size
This is just my opinion, others may chime in. But it has been my experience that once you go past a 4" drop in the rear a notch is going to be needed. You might get away without, but when driving and hitting bumps, or if you put anything in the bed, the axle would hit the frame.

Badger

Reaction score
First Name
Gary
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
This is just my opinion, others may chime in. But it has been my experience that once you go past a 4" drop in the rear a notch is going to be needed. You might get away without, but when driving and hitting bumps, or if you put anything in the bed, the axle would hit the frame.
From what I can see from most people doing drops do an axle flip when they go beyond 4”. That would put the axle closer to the frame requiring a notch. But I was thinking of doing drop springs and perches

Badger505

Reaction score
First Name
STEVE
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
I feel like it should be fine. I did an axel flip and lowering springs and I have to be really loaded for it to bottom out on the frame.

Charlie