Vortec 350 questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jarhead79

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Michael
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
I've been looking around for a 350 to rebuild and came across one a co-worker has for $250 bucks, now I'm no expert on engines at all but I do know I can use the heads on my current 350 as an upgrade, but I'm curious as to whether or not I can just rebuild the vortec and upgrade it little by little and then carb it like my current 350, I'm trying to stay away from computers and rewiring etc. Are there any differences in the blocks from 79' to say 99 up vortec?

DoubleDingo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Bagoomba
Truck Year
1981, 1965
Truck Model
81-C20 Silverado Camper Special-TH400-4.10s; 65-C20 with 4:57 gears and Borg Warner Overdrive
Engine Size
Carb'ed Vortec 350; 1972 L48 350
I think the blocks are the same or very similar. I bought a crate motor in 1998, and they asked if I wanted it ready for carburetor or fuel injection. Back then it was more difficult to put a carb on vortec heads, and I didn't have access nor could I afford a fuel injection system, so I went with the carburetor long block. The only difference between the two were the heads. Nowadays there are intake manifolds made just for putting a carb on vortec heads. The rep at the dealer where I bought the block said to order internal engine parts for a 1996 block. I have the block on my patio right now, and I cannot see any difference between it and my other small blocks except it has provisions for driver side and passenger side dipstick.

Jarhead79

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Michael
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size