Unusual radio issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Matt69olds

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC 1/2 ton
Engine Size
455 Olds
My son and I installed a Retro Sound stereo in his 92 Yukon about 6 months ago. When we first installed it, we had trouble with the radio not shutting off. I have had lots of experience with things NOT working, not do much things that won’t stop working! I checked for power on the red wire (ignition power feed) and it cycles off/on with the key as expected.

Based on that, I ASSUMED the radio was defective. RetroSound agreed and sent an exchange radio. For the most part, that solved the problem. Occasionally, the radio would continue to play with the ignition off.

Now, the problem is constant. Time to dig into and solve the issue. With a test light, once again power turns on/off with the key. However, when the radio is PLAYING with the key off, as soon as you touch the test light to the red wire, the radio IMMEDIATELY shuts off. Hmmm!!!

I then used a digital voltmeter to actually measure the voltage on the red wire. With the ignition on, it measures battery voltage. When you shut off the ignition, voltage immediately drops to around 11 volts, and slowly trickles down to around 9 volts. Clearly, 11 volts on that wire is enough to cause the radio to think the ignition is still on. Obviously, there is leaky voltage on the radio feed wire. Pulling the radio fuse immediately removed the parasitic voltage.

My question: what else is on the radio circuit that could be causing voltage to bleed enough power to keep the radio on? Other than a brake controller and electric chromatic rear mirror with compass/temp, there is nothing aftermarket on the truck. Nothing has been cut or hacked up.

Anyone in readerland have any ideas?

Jgonick

Full Access Member
Reaction score