Trailer Light Plug

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

350chevy85

Reaction score
First Name
Kyle
Truck Year
Truck Model
v20
Engine Size
350 TBI
Recently purchased my truck and it already has a trailer hitch on it but its seems like no one ever wired up the trailer light plug and i've never done any real wiring before and was wonder if i could get some advice for wiring a 7 pin trailer plug. For some reason the truck already has a break control which looks ancient and has what looks like a brake line hooked up which i assume it to determine the applied brake pressure

77 K20

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20 5" lift
Engine Size
HT383 fuel injected
http://www.etrailer.com/faq-wiring.aspx

I used the diagrams and parts from etrailer to wire up my '77. The brake controller you have is one of the old ones- as the newer ones are all electronic.

89Suburban

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Paw Paw
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevrolet Tahoe LT
Engine Size
5.3, 4WD
I only tow my boat trailer almost year round so I installed 4 way weather pack connectors for the light connections and have dummy ends to plug the leads into when not towing. This should end my battle with plug corrosion. And if I need to tow a different trailer I have an adapter wired up to fit the universal 4 way plug.

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7
Splicing in an aftermarket trailer harness plug is not rocket science. However, it is difficult to provide a procedure to someone who has no experience with automotive wiring repairs (especially making modifications to the truck's stock wiring).

Before anyone can really help you, it may be best to:

1. Attempt to develop a procedure for the modification yourself first