Timing chain problem help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sebe4848

Reaction score
First Name
sebastian
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
Alright fellas, so this morning I went to start my 86 silverado c10 short wheel base and it attempted to turn over, but made a sound that sounded much like a chain being scraped against cement. It got it started for a short period of time and then it just shut right off. After a couple more tries I noticed that white smoke was coming from my carburetor, not a lot, but enough for me to notice it under the air intake. I have an edelbrock carb if that helps. Could this problem be that the timing chain fell off of the teeth? If so, could anybody tell me how to replace the timing chain? I have never done a timing chain before so if you could please provide detailed instructions and pictures if possible. Thank you, any and all help is welcome.

texnet

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ronnie
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
A timing chain is too tight in the cover for it to just fall off unless broken.

To replace a timing chain..

1. Remove fan belt
2. Remove fan from water pump
3. Remove water pump
4. Remove harmonic balancer
5. Drain oil and remove oil pan
6. Remove timing cover
7. Turn engine over so marks on crankshaft and camshaft sprockets are lined up
8. Remove camshaft sprocket and chain

Reverse above to install.

However, before you do all that you should do some checking to make sure it is a chain problem. Set #1 cylinder to be at TDC for compression. Remove the distributor cap and see if the rotor is pointed to #1. Rotate the engine and see if rotor cap rotates and returns to #1 when you are #1 TDC.

sebe4848

Reaction score
First Name
sebastian
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size