Tail Light Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

YeOldeTruck

Reaction score
First Name
Rob
Truck Year
1973/78
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Total noob, just getting started on my truck. I feel like an idiot but I can’t get the tail light and reverse light bulbs out. The glass was loose on one and pulled out so now just the base is stuck. On the other I shattered the glass trying to pull it out. What am I doing wrong? How are these supposed to come out?

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350
If they arent coming out its probably corrosion! You can buy a new tail light harness with the sockets if they are badly conditioned. Otherwise, you can buy replacement sockets. The reverse and tail lamp sockets are identical except the tail lamp socket utilizes an extra wire and a dual filament bulb for braking/turning. They sell the sockets in both 2 and 3 wire, the third wire could be eliminated if you buy all of the 3 wire. Also, if you can keep your current ones you might try, with bttery disconnected, hitting it with some electrical contact cleaner and a small file, clean up the contacts but not break them. Use dielectric grease when putting new bulbs in. I vote new sockets. I found a used one in my shed that was in mint condition, its what I used.

Backfoot100

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Eddie
Truck Year
Truck Model
C1500 Suburban
Engine Size
Carbed 350
I vote corrosion too but you clean them up.
My license plate bulb socket was corroded bad. The base of the bulb broke off and was stuck in it.
I completely removed it from the truck and with a little bit of diligence, some WD40 and a dremel tool, it cleaned up very nice. Put it back in and has worked perfectly for two years so far.