Summit Racing Single Stage Paint

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

garzas23

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
AJ
Truck Year
Truck Model
Engine Size
Has anyone tried using summit single stage paints? Im working My way towards painting my 85 single cab swb. Please keep in mind im new to paint & body and im not going for a show truck finish lol. Im not against other brands but I can get each gallon of single stage for around $100 & clear around $50.

My question is mostly about the difficulty in spraying their metallic/pearl paints. I want to go with single stage for both cost & simplicity (dark blue or grey) with the single stage clear. BUT summit does not offer many basic gloss colors without metallic or pearls in single stage. They have nice gray and blue metallic but im concerned about how difficult it may be to spray metallic & pearls. They do have regular gloss black but Ive read that imperfections show really bad in black.

Also, anyone have an estimate on how many gallons of single stage i might need? I will be painting the cab inside/out, firewall, inner fenders, everything but the inside of the bed.

smoothandlow84

I'd rather be draggin' frame
Reaction score
First Name
Steve
Truck Year
1984 Frame...87 motor and 700r trans
Truck Model
1500 r10 pavement scraper
Engine Size
350 TBI