How much paint do I need, and other questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AaronW

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Aaron
Truck Year
Truck Model
V3500
Engine Size
All:

I've working on my 89 crew cab, and am researching paint colors. How much paint should I get, for a repaint? I've never done this before, so I haven't got any real sense of wat I'm going to need. I'll be doing the whole outside of the cab and the front end, but not the bed, since I'm putting a flat bed on it. I'm going to put bedliner sray on the cab floor, not sure what I'm going to do with the ceiling. Will I need a gallon of paint? More than that? I was thinking of doing a metallic orange and black rhino liner combo (on the lower part of of cab). Here's a link to the paint I was looking at: https://tcpglobal.com/collections/a...atomic-orange-pearl/products/rsp-au2210-kit-m

Anyone have any opinions on this particular company, brand of paint? Opinions on enamel v.s urethane? As you can see, I'm a real newbie at this. Is there a good tutorial thread or youtube video you all would recommend, for a painting newbie? It's going to be early summer before I paint it, but I wanted to do some advance research and get my supplies ordered, so I'm ready when the weather warms up and we get a break from the wind.

Also, I've got a good HVLP gun (Fuji MiniMite 4) that I use for spraying furniture finishes (lacquer etc). I figured I'd spray my truck with this gun. Anyone see any issues with doing that?

Aaron

fast 99

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size