SM465 wont shift?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BlueK20

Reaction score
First Name
Josh
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Need some help, i am at a loss.

I have been driving my '78 K20 for about 2 months now, no issues at all, I have driven plenty of standard trucks and i dont ride the clutch.

except since the other day it started acting up

If i depress the clutch at a standstill the clutch acts like it should and i can put the trans into any gear (I always start in 2nd)

But once i get moving, the truck wont let me get out of gear without rev-matching, when i depress the clutch pedal it acts as it should, just the trans wont pop out of gear without rev matching, same goes with trying to pop it into gear, i have to rev match!

The weird thing is I have zero problems getting the truck to move, it moves no problem, i can stop at the stop light with the clutch in no problem.

I have adjusted the clutch linkage and it hasnt changed it at all

Any help?

Smitch320

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mitchell
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
350/SM465 Short Bed
Does your truck have a Slave? A few years back mine had some similar symptoms and it turned out the slave was bad.

Just a thought, though. I am no expert

HotRodPC

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
First Name
HotRod
Truck Year
85 K20 LWB
Truck Model
Silverado
Engine Size
454 - Turbo 400 - 3.73