need major help on transmissions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

chevy murf

Reaction score
First Name
joseph
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
v8
Hey im new to this but my buddy sold me his 1986 chevy 4x4 v8 carborated truck but all it does is go in reverse because he blew the transmission. so now i need to get another one. i did some research and found out the it should be the 700 r4 but im not positive that is it. note it is automatic and not a manual. anyway i found a 700 r4 transmission on craigslist but out of a 1993 chevy 1500. So i do not know if that would work would it??? either way i need to know what transmission i need to look for and also if the one from the 1993 chevy would fit mine thanks all! if you need more info let me know.

HotRodPC

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
First Name
HotRod
Truck Year
85 K20 LWB
Truck Model
Silverado
Engine Size
454 - Turbo 400 - 3.73
NO, It will not work. Most 93's are 4L60-E's Electronic Control. Now I say MOST cuz I do believe 93 was a transistion year, so it's possible that it's a 700r4, but not likely. If it is a 700r4 for certain, and is for certain a 93 trans, it's a good one to have. By 93 there were many upgrades to the 700r4. While looking around for one, the 88-92 (And 93 Transition) 700r4 transmissions are the best. 87 isn't bad either, but 88-92 have the majority of the changes and are a bit stronger than the 82-86 units. The 86 isn't bad either, but in 87 the 2nd valve body came about that corrected a few things. The later ones also have more splines on the input shaft.