Low COG tips and tricks

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

wheelerboy12

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
jeremy
Truck Year
Truck Model
k10
Engine Size
alright i borrowed this from a jeep forum that i used to frequent before i bought my square, all credit goes to KTMRACER419 over at jeep cherokee forum. hotrod should make this a sticky as it is full of useful info :adminpower:

First off I do not consider myself an expert on the matter, but I have a few years experience in "low cog" rig setups. I often have people asking me "ZOMG HOW DO YOU GET ALL THAT FLECKS WITH THOSE BIG TARZ AND LITTLE LIFT!?!?!11!!77!" so i figure its a good time to make a thread I can point people to when i am asked this question.

I will make this post in a frequently asked question format, and as more specific questions arise, I will add to it accordingly.

_____

Why do I want a low lift height?

A low lift height has many advantages over a taller lift height. Don't get me wrong there are a billiondy situations you will encounter offroad and no rig is perfect in each situation, and much of this boils down to personal preference. With that said a lower lift height has 2 main benefits:

-adds stability, both off camber, while on hillclimbs and hill descents
exhibit A, drove out of it

exhibit b, drove up it

-better handling at high speeds and on the street
exhibit c, can safely blow a kiss to the camera while maintaining highway speeds

2 main downfalls:

-less belly clearance, breakover, and departure angles
-less suspension compression (only a real issue when you get into high speed stuff)

______

wouldnt it be better to have a bigger lift for more flex?